When Life Gets Busy

This is probably pretty obvious, but the blog hasn’t been a priority for a while. I’ve been struggling to get one post out a week. This is in direct opposition to my hopes that I would be posting content at least three to four times per week. Of course, life happens. I’m lucky that my life has been absolutely packed since the beginning of the month. That being said, I think those of you who actually read this on a regular basis deserve to know where I’ve been, so here’s a brief update.

After just over a month of unemployment, I finally have a job again. Through experience I have come to believe that nothing awful happens without something better following. This has proven true yet again with regards to my employment. After losing a job I loved and mourning that loss I’m moving on to one of the most fun jobs I’ve ever had. I’m spending the summer as a camp counselor for an outdoor adventure camp at a popular ski resort that doubles as a summer family vacation spot. I’ll be getting paid to hike, play dodgeball, swim, and make friendship bracelets. Of course, the trade-off is that I’ll be making the least amount of money I’ve made since I was 16, but for now the pure joy I have when I show up to work is worth being dirt poor. Last week was my training week and I was on my feet from 8:30am to 4:30pm running around the resort and learning how to facilitate all this fun. I haven’t been so exhausted after work since I was working three jobs to pay rent on my first big girl apartment. I had intended to write after work last week, but it never happened. I got home from work and passed out on the couch every day.

Since the beginning of the month I’ve only spent one weekend in my own bed. Last weekend I was in Maine reprising my role as the “cool girl” with my favorite group of guys. Starting Thursday this week I was in CT taking my little sister to see Taking Back Sunday and Dashboard Confessional, then in VT again on Friday night helping my best friend get ready for her wedding. Saturday was a whirlwind of errands, arts and crafts, venue setup, and pure, overwhelming joy. I watched two of my best friends walk down the aisle and pledge their lives to each other. There’s something about weddings that make the rest of the world melt away. Nothing exists except pure, true love. We celebrated, we laughed, we cried, and we danced for hours.

Yesterday I slept as late as possible, 9:30am, and spent the rest of the day curled up on my couch with my husband binge watching Orange is the New Black, and catching the latest episode of Game of Thrones. Today is my first day with actual campers. Teenagers who probably don’t want to spend their vacation hiking and button making, but at the end of the day, I’m still getting paid to hike and craft.

Life is busy. Life is good. I’m hoping that today can kick off a new commitment to getting content back on here. I took a good, long break from writing at all after getting my first few pieces published, but it’s time to get back to the grind. I made my original dream of being a paid freelancer come true, and now it’s time to do the dedicated work of keeping it going.

Leave a Reply

